Rule Review: Oops, that’s okay!

The people who wrote the rules were pretty understanding. If the ball hits any part of your paddle hand below the wrist while you are serving or returning a shot, that’s ok. It’s still good.

If the ball skips or double hits your paddle while you are serving or returning a shot, that’s also ok as long as it happened during one continuous motion of your paddle and arm. That means no deliberate double hits. The rule writers were lenient, not drunk.

Playing Tip: Paddle Preservation

Your paddle picks up grime, dust, pollen, and more during play and sometimes during storage. Over time this affects the paddle’s performance and longevity. Here’s how to keep your paddle in good playing condition:

  • Wipe the paddle with a damp cloth frequently. Remember to dry it off too.
  • Do not leave the paddle in a hot car. Extreme heat (and cold) can damage it.
  • Wrap a towel or old tee shirt around your paddle to stow it.
  • Don’t scrape the paddle on the court to hit a ball out of the way.
  • If your paddle has an edge guard, examine it regularly. Loose edge guards can be glued in place.
  • Slapping your paddle against nets, posts, your well-formed thighs or your partner’s backside can weaken the handle or break apart the core inside.
  • When your handle grip gets worn, it is easy to re-grip. A worn slippery paddle handle can be dangerous for your paddle and for other players.

1 Reply to "Rule Review: Oops, that’s okay!"

  • comment-avatar
    Brian O'Kelly
    August 18, 2016 (1:25 pm)
    Reply

    I read about the double hit rule before. Surprisingly it happens quite a bit! I guess thats why it addressed in the rules.


Got something to say?

Some html is OK